Skip to content


Why Recertify?

When you carry the CPP, PCI, or PSP designation, you are telling the world that you have mastered the knowledge and skills needed to be a successful security management professional. To continue to hold your designation, you also promise to stay current in this field.

To stay current, you must recertify your designation every three years by completing 60 continuing professional education credits.

The Recertification Guide explains the policies and procedures for recertifying your CPP, PCI, and PSP designation.

Download guide

How do I recertify?

Required Continuing Professional Education credits

CPE credits are awarded in the following categories and must align to the exam domains for the credential you are recertifying.

  • Membership in a security- and business management-related associations
  • Educational classes, courses, and seminars
  • Authoring articles and books
  • Volunteer Service
  • ASIS Certification, Standards and Guidelines Program Services
  • Public Service

The Recertification Guide provides detailed explanations for each of these categories and the documentation you’ll need to include to prove you completed each CPE. Some categories have a maximum amount of CPEs you can claim.

Once you have met your recertification requirements, you will be notified by ASIS with instructions on how to pay your recertification fee. You will receive an email with the review results in 3-4 weeks after submission. If your application is approved, ASIS will send you an updated certificate.

Recertification Fees

  • $70 ASIS members
  • $90 nonmembers

Late fees apply for applications submitted after your deadline.

If your recertification application is denied, the Recertification Guide provides instructions for submitting an appeal.

Digital Badges

Digital badges are portable, verifiable, and deter unauthorized reproductions of the CPP, PCI, and PSP designations.

Once you have earned your ASIS certification, you will receive an email from ProExam ( with instructions on downloading your digital badge.

Lapsed and Expired Certifications

Lapsed Certifications

A one-year grace period is given if you miss your December 31 deadline. After that date, your CPP, PCI, and PSP designations are considered “lapsed.” When your certification is lapsed, you are technically not certified and must stop using the designation until you have completed your recertification requirement.

During your “lapsed” year, you will need to submit additional CPEs and pay a late fee to recertify your designation.

  • Between January 1 and June 30 of your lapsed year, a total of 64 credits and a $110 fee is required to reinstate your ASIS designation (four additional credits and a $40 late fee)
  • Between July 1 and December 31 of your lapsed year, a total of 68 credits and a $110 fee is required to reinstate your ASIS designation (eight additional credits and a $40 late fee)

Policy Update

Starting January 2019, the lapsed period will be shortened to three months. Those who are due to recertify by Dec. 31, 2018 will only have until March 31, 2019 to complete the recertification requirements or risk losing your certification.

Expired Certifications

If you fail to submit a recertification application prior to December 31 of your lapsed year, your certification will expire. To be certified again, you will need to apply for, and pass, the applicable certification examination.