Skip to content



ASIS International recognizes the important work of ASIS members around the world with awards that celebrate their accomplishments and dedication to the security management profession.


Congratulations to the recipients of our 2020 awards!

View Winners

President’s Award of Merit

The President’s Award of Merit is an annual award bestowed by the President of ASIS International to an individual member for distinguished service, achievement, and/or contributions. Distinguished achievement includes significant contributions to the knowledge of the profession, literature of the profession, outstanding service to ASIS International, and/or service to other organizations affiliated with the security profession.

Council Awards

Ralph Day Memorial Security Officer Heroism Award (Security Services Council)

Each year, one security officer is recognized for outstanding service/acts in the security profession by the Security Services Council (SSC) through the Ralph Day Security Officer Heroism Award. This award is meant for those that perform a heroic act that involves circumstances where a private security officer risks his or her life to save another person. The award nominee must be an employee of a contract security company employed as a security officer.

Women in Security Global Council Karen Marquez Honors Award

This award honors a female security professional who has consistently worked for the betterment of the security industry over an extended period. Nominees should be able to demonstrate how they have supported, promoted, and inspired other women in our industry to be exceptional leaders. Nominees must be an ASIS member in good standing but do not have to be a WIS Council member. Nominees must possess a minimum of 15 years’ experience in the security industry or 10 years’ experience or equivalent with an ASIS Certification. 

Roy N. Bordes, CPP Council Member Award of Excellence

This award recognizes an ASIS member who has exhibited selfless devotion as a volunteer, emphasizing significant contributions at the council level over an extended period. Nominations may be submitted by a Council Vice President, Council Chairperson, or Vice Chairperson. The candidate’s nomination will be assessed based on years of service, contributions, and leadership provided.

Young Professionals Council GSX Experience Award

This award recognizes two ASIS young professional volunteer members who have exhibited strong leadership in the security industry. Applicants need to be below the age of 40. The criteria for this award include age, financial need, merit, and council volunteer leadership participation.

Chapter Awards

E.J. Criscuoli, Jr., CPP, Volunteer Leadership
In honor of executive vice president and longtime volunteer, E.J. Criscuoli, this award recognizes an ASIS volunteer who has exhibited strong leadership at the chapter or regional level.

I.B. Hale Chapter of the Year
Established in 1972 to honor former ASIS President and Chairman of the Board I.B. Hale, the award recognizes the most outstanding chapters in several award groups.

Community Service
This award recognizes chapters for outstanding service to the local community.

Chapter Newsletter of the Year
This annual award recognizes outstanding print and electronic chapter newsletters.

Chapter Website of the Year
This award recognizes chapters for outstanding web design and content.

CSO Center Award

Don Walker CSO Center Security Executive Award

The Don Walker CSO Center Security Executive Award recognizes a senior level executive who demonstrates commitment to security management education, certification, and standards and guidelines for the executive management level of the security discipline in a given enterprise. It is named in honor of ASIS Past President and Past President of the CSO Center, Don Walker, CPP, former Chairman of Securitas Security Services and one of the first co-chairs of the CSO Center.

Certification Awards

Regional Certification Award

Recognizes certified security professionals who have made significant contributions to the enhancement and advancement of the APP, CPP, PCI, or PSP, designation.

Organizational Award of Merit

Recognizes an organization displaying outstanding leadership and a commitment to the professional development of their security professionals through certification.