Skip Navigation LinksASIS International / About ASIS / Who We Are / What's New / Ralph Day Award Now Accepting Nominations

Ralph Day Award Now Accepting Nominations

03 May 2013

Each year, one Security Officer in the United States is recognized for outstanding service/acts in the security profession by the Security Services Council through the Ralph Day Security Officer of the Year Award.

Who the Award is meant for:

• Those that performs a heroic act. They involve circumstances where a private security officer risks his or her life to save another person.
• Those that perform “routine” and “ordinary” security services in an exemplary manner.

What the Award recognizes:

• Front line security officers, who performed in a superior, gallant, or heroic manner in the course of his or her duties and, in doing so, have far exceeded the expectations of their position and training.
• The award nominee must be an employee of a contract security company employed as a security officer (up to the level of site supervisor). All award nominees must meet all state and/or local legal, licensing and training requirements as proscribed by the jurisdiction where the nominee is employed. In addition, nominees must be found to have good moral character, be in good standing with his employer and not have committed any serious misdemeanors or felonies.
• In addition to the above requirements, other factors that will be used to evaluate the candidacy of an award nominee include a demonstrated commitment to the private security industry, a strong initiative in personal development (including the attendance at training courses and other career development opportunities), the display of teamwork and the overall deep commitment to the security program at the nominee’s work site and shift.


• Chapter Chairpersons should submit their award nomination, along with any documentation/material necessary to support the criteria, to their Regional Vice President no later than May 31.
• The Regional Vice President, after review of the submissions, may forward all nominations that meet the award criteria to the Security Services Council Special Projects & Awards Committee Chair on or before June 30.

 Quick Links