Skip to content

Executive Leadership

​​​​If you need a photo, wish to speak with ASIS leadership, or need more information about ASIS programs and services​, please contact ASIS public relations at or +1.703.518.1415.

Richard E. Chase, CPP, PCI, PSP

2018 ASIS International President

Richard E. Chase, CPP, PCI, PSP is the 63rd president of ASIS International.
Richard Chase serves as the Vice President for Environmental Health and Safety, Human Resources, International Trade Compliance, and Security for General Atomics and the Affiliated Companies, a multinational corporation; providing executive leadership and counsel to the organization regarding enterprise risk management and compliance.  The Company’s genre of products and services represents a wide range of vertical markets to include Defense, Energy, Aerospace, Chemical, Bio Fuels, Mining, Medical Diagnostics, and Critical Manufacturing; with each business line having its own unique operating model and risk landscape.
Chase previously served in the Senior Executive Service for the United States Department of Justice in Washington, DC. As the Chief Security Officer (CSO) for the Department’s component agency, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, he managed the corporate security, compliance, and life safety functions; while safeguarding personnel and critical assets located domestically, abroad, and in theatre.

He serves as a subject matter expert on the International and National levels for policy development in the fields of security, information assurance, life safety, business resilience, compliance, and law enforcement. Further, he participates in numerous professional organizations to include, ASIS International, as a member of the Board of Directors and 2018 President; the International Security Management Association; and the International Association of Chiefs of Police.

Academic achievements include a Master of Science degree from Michigan State University; a Bachelor degree through the University of Montana; and a graduate of the FBI National Academy, 195th Session.

Chase is a past recipient of the prestigious Presidential Rank Award, conferred by President George W. Bush; and the United States Department of Justice, Attorney General’s Award for Excellence, Senior Executive Service.

Peter J. O’Neil, FASAE, CAE

Chief Executive Officer

Peter O’Neil assumed the position of CEO of ASIS International in January 2016. Prior to joining ASIS, O’Neil served as CEO of the American Industrial Hygiene Association, an international professional society representing 10,000 occupational and environmental health and safety professionals.

He has served in several executive volunteer leadership positions over the past ten years with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and various association management organizations. He is an author and frequent presenter, facilitator, and speaker at conference events.

He is a graduate of Syracuse University and holds a Bachelor of Science in International Relations. Additional post-graduate work was conducted in public administration, knowledge management, and association management.

ASIS International Board of Directors

Board Management Committee

Richard E. Chase, CPP, PCI, PSP
General Atomics | San Diego, CA, USA
Christina Duffey, CPP
SOS Security, LLC | Phoenix, AZ, USA
Godfried Hendriks, CPP
Revolution Retail Systems | Alkmaar, The Netherlands
John A. Petruzzi, Jr., CPP
G4S North America and Technology | New York, NY, USA
Chairman of the Board
Thomas J. Langer, CPP
BAE Systems | Arlington, VA, USA


​Charles E. Andrews, CPP
Friends of Chuck | Houston, TX, USA

Michael R. Bouchard, CPP
Janus​ Global Operations, Inc. | Reston, VA, USA

Radek Havlis, CPP
PricewaterhouseCoopers | Prague, Czech Republic

Richard F. Lisko, CPP
Willis Towers Watson | Dallas, TX, USA

Darren T Nielsen, CPP, PCI, PSP
Western Electricity Coordinating Council | Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Malcolm C. Smith, CPP
Qatar Museums Authority | Doha, Qatar

Howard J. Belfor, CPP
Belfor & Associates | Black Mountain, NC, USA

Gail Essen, CPP, PSP
Professional Security Advisors | Andover, MN, USA

Jeffrey J. Lee, CPP
Saudi Aramco | Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Timothy M. McCreight, CPP
Risk Rebels | Calgary, Canada

Jaime P. Owens, CPP
Panama Canal Authority | Panama City, Panama

Ann Trinca, CPP, PCI, PSP
SecTek | Reston, VA, USA