Skip to content

Code Black: 50 Lessons in Crisis Management for Effective Leadership Wins 2023 ASIS Security Industry Book of the Year Award

Media Contact:
Andy Cutler
[email protected]

Crisis management expert, Glenn C. Schoen, offers an insightful look into the world of crisis management and leadership

Alexandria, VA (24 August 2023)—ASIS International, the world’s largest association for security management professionals, today announced that Code Black: 50 Lessons in Crisis Management for Effective Leadership was selected as its 2023 ASIS Security Industry Book of the Year.


According to Kevin Cassidy, professor in the security, fire, and emergency management department at John Jay College, “Code Black: 50 Lessons in Crisis Management for Effective Leadership could not have been published at a better time. It discusses fundamentals of crisis management, security management, risk management, and how businesses and government agencies deal with conflict in today’s turbulent times. Author Glenn Schoen highlights various topics, including the COVID-19 pandemic’s effect on society, individuals’ perception of security and safety, employees’ sense of workplace safety, economics, and the supply chain crisis.”  

Cassidy went on to add, “Whether crises are manmade or because of natural disasters, they are occurring more frequently and with greater intensity, straining resources and challenging community and organizational resilience. How does society plan for and alleviate risks and hazards and manage the response and recovery efforts when an emergency or disaster strikes? There is not an easy answer to this puzzling question. Schoen suggests that crises have seven characteristics, each offering a context for managing them. He goes on to explain how these characteristics lay the foundation to manage a crisis.” 

The ASIS Security Industry Book of the Year is selected by a panel of ASIS members who review member-authored titles using criteria including relevancy to today’s security threats, importance of the subject in the field, and the uniqueness of the coverage of a new security concept, idea, or technology.

Previous ASIS Book of the Year winners include: 

2022: Principles of Emergency Management Operations Centers (EOC), Michael J. Fagel, Ph.D., CEM, Rick C. Mathews, MS, NRP (ret.) and J. Howard Murphy, PhD, FacEM, CEM, NRP 

2021: Critical Infrastructure Risk Assessment: The Definitive Threat Identification and Threat Reduction Handbook, Ernie Hayden, PSP 

2020: Strategic Security: Forward Thinking for Successful Executives, Jean Perois, CPP 

2019: Soft Target Hardening: Protecting People from Attack (2nd Edition), Jennifer Hesterman, PhD. 

2018: The Five Technological Forces Disrupting Security, Steve Van Till 

2017: Managing Critical Incidents and Large-Scale Event Security, Eloy Nuñez and Ernest G. Vendrell, CPP 

2016: Risk Analysis and Security Countermeasure Selection (2nd Edition), Thomas L. Norman, CPP, PSP 

2015: Soft Target Hardening: Protecting People from Attack (1st Edition), Jennifer Hesterman, Ph.D. 

2014: Crisis Management and Emergency Planning: Preparing for Today’s Challenges, Michael J. Fagel, Ph.D. 

To learn more about how you can be considered for next year’s ASIS Security Industry Book of the Year, please email [email protected] 


About ASIS International

Founded in 1955, ASIS International is the world's largest membership organization for security management professionals. With hundreds of chapters across the globe, ASIS is recognized as the premier source for learning, networking, standards, and research. Through its board certifications, award-winning Security Management magazine, and Global Security Exchange (GSX)—the most influential event in the profession—ASIS ensures its members and the security community have access to the intelligence and resources necessary to protect their people, property, and information assets.  Learn more about the work we do at