Skip to content

ASIS International has announced that Richard E. Chase, CPP, PCI, PSP, will serve as its 2018 president. Chase will be the Society’s 63rd president, succeeding Thomas J. Langer, CPP, who will serve as 2018 chairman of the board. Christina Duffey, CPP, will assume the role of president-elect, and Godfried Hendriks, CPP, will serve as treasurer.

The results of the recent board election were also announced, at September's 63rd Annual Seminar and Events in Dallas, TX. ASIS members re-elected incumbents Jaime P. Owens, CPP, and John A. Petruzzi, CPP, and elected Ann Trinca, CPP, PCI, PSP, and Darren Nielsen, CPP, PCI, PSP, to the 17-member board. Petruzzi will serve as secretary of the board.


Jaime P. Owens, CPP
Security Branch Supervisor, Panama Canal, Panama City, Panama (2003-present)​

Jaime Owens, CPP, began his career in the security profession in 1988 at the Panama Canal serving as a Watch Supervisor; Security Specialist (Instructor); and currently, Security Branch Officer. He has been an ASIS member since 1999 and is currently serving on the Board of Directors and Bylaws and Resolutions Committee. Previously he served on the ASIS Foundation Board of Trustees, Latin American Advisory Council, the Women in Security Council, Awards Committee, and the Professional Certification Board. He has also served as the Panama Chapter Treasurer and Chair, Regional Vice President, and Senior Regional Vice President.​​​​

John A. Petruzzi Jr., CPP
Vice President, Integrated Security Solutions, G4S North America and Technology, New York, NY, USA (2016-present)

John Petruzzi, Jr., CPP, began his career in the security profession in 1990. He joined ASIS in 2000 and shortly after, in 2002, started as Director, Enterprise Security for Constellation Energy Group. He then served as Vice President, Corporate Security and Emergency Management for Simon Property Group and Senior Vice President, Eastern US and Canada, Andrews International, before his current position. Petruzzi has served on the ASIS International Board of Directors since 2015 and previously served on the ASIS Foundation Board of Trustees, including as President from 2011 to 2013. He has also participated in multiple councils and board committees, including budget, bylaws, and strategic planning.​​

Newly elected:

Ann Y. Trinca, CPP, PCI, PSP
Vice President, SecTek, Inc., Reston, VA, USA, 1999-Present

Ann Trinca, CPP, PCI, PSP, began her career in the security profession in 1999 at SecTek, a guard services company, with progressive management experience including Proposal/Communications Manager, General Counsel, and Vice President, with present responsibilities including corporate compliance, training and professional development. She has been an ASIS member since 2013 and serves multiple roles on the Professional Certification Board, including PCB Director, Quality Management Committee Chair, CPP and PCI Designation and Strategic Planning committee member, new member mentor, and was on the CPP Job Analysis Task Force. She has also been active on the Women in Security Council, including serving as Chair for the Strategic Alliance and Certification Committees.

Darren T. Nielsen, CPP, PCI, PSP
Manager, Physical and Cyber Security Audits and Investigations, Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC), Salt Lake City, UT, USA, 2016-present.

Darren Nielsen, CPP, PCI, PSP, began his career in the security profession in 1990 with the United States Marine Corps. For almost 10 years, after serving in the Marines, he worked as a Police Officer in Phoenix. Shortly after in 2007, he began working in corporate securi​ty, first as a CIP Program Manager for Arizona Public Service and then as Manager Corporate Security at Edison before joining the Western Electricity Coordinating Council in 2011, where he worked as a Senior Auditor for 5 years before his current position. Nielsen has been an ASIS member since 2008 and currently serves as a Council Vice President. Involved in ASIS councils since 2012, he had previously served as Council Chair and Vice Chair.​​

The new leadership team will assume its new roles on 1 January, 2018. Read more about these board members and their​ visions for ASIS's future here​.​