Skip Navigation LinksASIS International / News / Press Room / Press Releases / 2008 / Deadline Extended for Nominations for Third Annual Security Convergence and Contribution to ERM Award

1625 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-2818
Fax: +1.703.519.6299
Michael J. Stack
Executive Director

News Release

Deadline Extended for Nominations for Third Annual Security Convergence and Contribution to ERM Award

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA 2008-07-08

The Alliance for Enterprise Security Risk Management (AESRM)—a partnership of ASIS International and ISACA—is seeking nominations for the third annual AESRM Excellence in Security Convergence and Contribution to Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) Award. The award was created to honor individuals who are leading the growing field of security risk management and convergence.

Nomination forms are available on the AESRM web site, The deadline for nominations has been extended to July 21, 2008. Nominees must be members in good standing of ASIS International or ISACA. Three representatives from each organization will judge the nomination forms.

“Understanding the convergence of physical and information security and how it fits within enterprise risk management is key to expanding the dialogue about security’s role in ERM,” said Jeff Spivey, CPP, PSP, a founding member of AESRM and past president of ASIS. “Enterprises worldwide are recognizing the importance of collaboration among physical and information security to minimize risks most effectively.”

Individuals nominated for the award should exhibit leadership in improving the understanding of security’s role in enterprise security risk management throughout their organizations. Their work should involve people, processes and technology to manage security risks inside of a holistic model managing the enterprise risks. Additionally, nominees must demonstrate how they have shared their security risk management accomplishments with people outside of their organizations.

The winner of the Excellence in Security Convergence and Contribution to ERM Award will receive an expenses-paid trip to the ASIS International 54th Annual Seminar and Exhibits from September 15-18, 2008, where the award will be presented. The winner’s convergence/ERM story will also appear in ISACA and ASIS publications.

Previous winners of the award are Dave Tyson, CISSP, CPP, then the security officer for the City of Vancouver, Canada and currently the senior director of information security operations at eBay in San Jose, California, USA, and Sanjay Bahl, CISM, chief security officer for Tata Consultancy Services in New Delhi, India. 

# # #
The Alliance for Enterprise Security Risk Management (AESRM) ( was formed in February 2005 to encourage board and senior executive attention to critical security-related issues and the need for a comprehensive approach to protect the enterprise. The alliance—consisting of ASIS International and ISACA—brings together more than 100,000 global security professionals with broad security backgrounds and skills to address the significant increase and complexity of security-related risks to
international commerce from terrorism, cyber attacks, Internet viruses, theft, fraud, extortion and other threats.
About ASIS International
ASIS International ( is the preeminent organization for security professionals, with more than 36,000 members worldwide.  Founded in 1955, ASIS is dedicated to increasing the effectiveness and productivity of security professionals by developing educational programs and materials that address broad security interests, such as the ASIS Annual Seminar and Exhibits, as well as specific security topics.  ASIS also advocates the role and value of the security management profession to business, the media, government entities and the public.  By providing members and the security community with access to a full range of programs and services, and by publishing the industry’s No. 1 magazine—Security Management—ASIS leads the way for advanced and improved security performance.
With more than 75,000 members in more than 160 countries, ISACA ( is a recognized worldwide leader in IT governance, control, security and assurance. Founded in 1969, ISACA sponsors international conferences, publishes the Information Systems Control Journal, and develops international information systems auditing and control standards. It also administers the globally respected Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) designation, earned by more than 60,000 professionals since 1978; the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) designation, earned by more than 9,000 professionals since 2002; and the new Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) designation.