Skip Navigation LinksASIS International / Education & Events / Education Programs / Webinars / Security and Political Risk Outlook for the Middle East in 2017

Security and Political Risk Outlook for the Middle East in 2017

What are CPE credits?
up to
1
CPE Credits
21 December 2016
07:00 - 08:00

​Webinar start time: 16.00 Dubai, 15.00 Riyadh/Istanbul, 13.00 Brussels, 12.00 London, 7.00 Washington DC

Subscriber Fee: $0


The webinar will examine key risks facing businesses in the Middle East, including how DAESH is likely to respond to the loss of many of its key territories in Iraq and Syria, as well as the implications of rising economic hardship and related protests in Egypt. The program will explore the outlook for Turkey as President Erdogan continues to push for enhanced power while stepping up his assault on the Kurds and those opposed to his rule. The speaker will also cover the likely impact on the Middle East of the new Trump administration in the U.S. and the Iranian elections in early 2017.

Participants will be able to:

  • Identify the main security risks facing business in the region in 2017
  • Envision how the threat from the Islamic State group will evolve throughout the region
  • Determine which countries are most at risk from political instability and which will be the most stable.

Speaker Bio

James Brandon is Head of Security and Political Risk at Stirling Assynt. He joined the company in early 2016 and previously worked for various political and security risk consulting firms, including Control Risks, Maplecroft, and IHS Janes. Earlier in his career, James worked for various U.S. and U.K. think-tanks on security-related issues, focusing on Islamist violence. He has also worked as a journalist for Bloomberg, al-Jazeera and the BBC, covering political, security and financial issues from around the Middle East, Europe and parts of Africa. He has lived and worked in a range of countries, including Iraq, Yemen, Qatar and Singapore, and has been widely quoted in the international media. He has an M.A. in Near and Middle Eastern Studies from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS).

Registration Fees

$99.00Member
$129.00Nonmember

 Subscription Information

Webinar Subscription

Gain access to all 2016 live and archived webinar offerings—at least 24 programs—for one low price!​

Members - $99
Nonmembers - $350
Join ASIS and save.

Purchase a
Webinar Subscription

 Pertinent Information